summer love, punk rock style

Summer is the best time for romance and summer is the best time for punk rock (though clearly both things are also really, really good all year long), so why not combine them? Here are five punk rock love songs you can put on that mix tape you’re making for that dude (or lady) you met at the bar/beach/show/holding cell a couple weeks ago.

Punk Rock Girl – The Dead Milkmen

This song makes me want to move to Philly and go to Zipperheads until my own personal Rodney Anonymous taps me on the shoulder and asks if I have a beau. Edited to add Trusty reader Linda has informed me that Zipperheads is no more. I guess I will also need a time machine.

Dead Boys – All This And More

Stiv wants to do more than just describe what it’s like to have sex with the light on. “A teenage feelin, rockin’ and a reelin'” is one of the most accurate descriptions of infatuation that I can think of.

Descendents – Nothing With You

“I don’t wanna move, I’ll just sit here in my living room and see what’s on the tube while I’m hanging out with you.”  If that’s not one of the romantic sentences ever uttered, I don’t know what is.

The Vibrators – Baby Baby

This is one of the sweetest, most innocent new-love songs in the punk rock oeuvre — especially coming from a band whose patch my mom would barely even let me wear when I was a teenager.

Richard Hell & The Voidoids – All The Way

Richard Hell covers the classic Ol’ Blue Eyes tune and somehow makes it sound even better and even more plaintive.  I totally want this to be played at my wedding, and if the dude doesn’t agree I guess we aren’t getting married after all.

What are your favorite punk rock love songs? I swear you could probably make a tape with nothing but Descendents jams and be golden.

9 responses to “summer love, punk rock style

  1. YES! I love this so far. Nothing With You is one of mine and Aaron’s songs. I completely agree about the mix tape of just Descendents. I do have some of my personal favorites to add as well!

    1. I Wanna Be Loved – Johnny Thunders
    2. Love Song – The Damned (Obvious, I know)
    3. Silly Girl – Descendents
    4. I Wanna Be Your Boyfriend – The Ramones
    5. Crazy About You – NastyFacts
    6. All Half Yours – NastyFacts
    7. Young and Crazy – Nikki and the Corvettes
    8. Cheri Love Affair – GG Allin
    9. I Wanna Be Your Dog – The Stooges
    10. For You – Anti-Nowhere League

  2. Love this!!

    So sad to tell you, but Zipperheads is gone! 😦 It’s now this shitty store called Crash! Bang! Boom! and it’s just not the same. I bought my senior prom corset at Zipperheads. R.I.P.

    xoxo Linda

  3. The Dictators – Stay With Me. That is all.

  4. Saraaaa i am loving the font you chose for the post titles… what is it lol

  5. “Nothing With You” was the closing song on the first mix CD I made for my boyfriend.
    My favorite love songs:
    “SOS” – Kid Dynamite
    “Kind of Like Smitten” – The Ergs!
    “Kitchen” – The Lemonheads
    “Word Buzz” – Bad Banana
    “Oh!” – Sleater-Kinney
    “Need You Around” – Smoking Popes
    “Supermodel” – Kepi Ghoulie
    “Fuck This World” – The Queers
    “Cabot Gal” – Pinhead Gunpowder

  6. Pingback: summer love, punk rock style part 2 | cartoon heart

Leave a Reply

