drawn style

During my time off from blogging I kept on top of my style game by doing little fashion drawings, coming up with outfits for my friends and then illustrating them.  It’s fun because coming up with looks for other people challenges me to think outside the box of my own aesthetic, plus drawing the outfits helps to better envision what they would actually look like in the real world.  Here are a couple of looks I illustrated for friends recently…

Sara is a French-Canadian megababe who never wears heels and sometimes gets her nipples out like it ain’t no big deal (pro tip: it ain’t no big deal and everyone should take a cue from this broad). Plus she has, like, the coolest name ever.


RAEN sunglasses from Urban Outfitters, Blood Is The New Black t-shirt, skinny suspenders from Amazon, YSL lipstick, Melie Bianco crossbody bag, Forever 21 skirt, Antiquated Crow flask from Etsy, three-stone cuff from Nasty Gal, Kingdog “Castrating Bitch” ’70s reproduction feminist badge from Etsy, Zoya matte nail polish in Dovina, American Apparel pointelle ankle socks, Pointer oxfords from Need Supply Co.

Gabi is a fatshion icon, MTV TJ, and one of my favorite people in the entire world (and here’s a photo to prove it). She runs GABIFRESH.com (formerly plus-size fashion mecca Young, Fat, & Fabulous), and I tried to come up with a look that reflects her edgy city style and her love for purple platforms.


Missphit
wrap top, The Row sunglasses from 80’s Purple, Bare Escentuals Pretty Amazing Lipcolor in Strength, Marc by Marc Jacobs post earrings, Luv AJ chain connector bracelet from La Dama, Patricia Field skull knuckle clutch, Torrid skirt, Essie nail polish in Silken Cord, Senso Diffusion platforms from Modcloth.

You can check out my older illustrations at yournewoutfit.tumblr.com.  I’ll probably keep posting my fashion drawings here periodically, and if you like them, stay tuned, because I plan to launch a service-based site in the next couple of months where you too can be graphically styled by yours truly!

9 responses to “drawn style

  1. i love this so much!!! the gabi illustration is just dead-on.

    oh, and the picture of divine in your sidebar definitely has you winning my heart, right now.

    xx

  2. This is fun! Would you put together an outfit for a gentleman?
    ♥ mab

  3. i love you!!! this is SO perfect, like im seriously contemplating buying the stuff you chose, especially the top! and you are so sweet to actually pick things that are plus size! <333

  4. i’m so happy you are blogging again. your work has always been interesting and inspiring to me. i love your drawings in this post- they are amazing . i’ve always found myself looking up WR2BAM and getting lost in the posts and your style. i was ecstatic to see you’ve come back at cartoon heart and want to thank you for creating something so special here. i’ve really enjoyed what i’ve read and seen so far. 🙂

    • You are so sweet, thank you so much for the kind words. Sometimes I feel a bit like I’m writing to an empty room so knowing I make an impact on my readers is really amazing and I really appreciate it. Thank you! XOXOX

  5. Amazing. If I were rich I’d totally hire you to be my fashion consultant.

  6. Pingback: more drawn style | cartoon heart

Leave a Reply

