cracked and shattered

For 4th of July weekend I wanted to do something kinda seasonal with my nails without getting all obvious about it.  Over the weekend I picked up a couple of new shatter nail polishes at my favorite 99¢ bodega (shocking, I know) and I was eager to try them out.  Patriotically, I had picked out red and blue shades, so here’s what I’m working with for Independence Day:


Cherimoya 2012 Cracked in Savior over Essie in Silken Cord.  Accent nails: Kleancolor Crack in Red Crackle over Sally Hansen Xtreme Wear in Celeb City.


The two different crackle lacquers reacted differently — the Cherimoya 2012 is great and works pretty much like the OPI shatter polishes.  It starts cracking immediately and has a pretty uniform vertically-aligned pattern to it.  The Kleancolor is weirder; it cracks inward verrrrrrry slowly and is more subtle, as you can see in the photos.  Over some polishes the Kleancolor just dries and flakes off immediately, but it seems to work best over metallics and shimmers.  Ultimately I think I would recommend the Cherimoya 2012 Crack overall — it’s super cheap and comes in 24 awesome colors.  I’m going to grab some more bright shades next time I hit up the bodega for sure.

Speaking of bright shades, my friend Allison just sent me this New York Times article about wild nail polish going mainstream.  The comments are interesting; lots of readers seem to maintain that all nail polish is completely tacky.  What do you think?

7 responses to “cracked and shattered

  1. These are super fun! I have noticed that funky nails are becoming more popular. There was an article in Glamour (?) or Bust (?) about doing fun nails. I really like Kleancolor even though it seems to chip faster. My nails regularly look like crap since I climb at an indoor rock climbing gym, everything chips off quickly.

  2. I think it depends on the color used and the condition of the nails. I think really chipped nail polish is kind of gross (although some girls can totally pull it off but it personally drives me crazy). I’m currently obsessed with the nail polish strips because they last long so I don’t have to deal with chipping. Plus, they just look cool, as you know 🙂

  3. I totally gave the cracked look a try. I did two coats of Sephora by OPI in Break-a-leg warmer!, a deep charcoal gray and a top coat of Blasted gold in the same brand. It’s basically amazing.

  4. Pingback: summertime nail polish giveaway | cartoon heart

  5. That NY Times article you linked to is interesting. I hadn’t thought about the correlation between the economy and inexpensive beauty items/ accessories, but it makes a lot of sense. I think there’s a similar principle with beer – in tough economic times, beer sales remain steady (or maybe even rise?) because it’s a small luxury that people can still afford when more expensive leisure items are out of reach.

    Also, who are these commenters (on the NYT article) that think ALL nail polish is tacky? Do they also disapprove of women showing their ankles in public? Oh, my delicate sensibilities! /faints

  6. Interesting! When I think about it, I think the same is true for me! Thanks for this post – it inspired me to write a post about other products that are “recession-proof” for similar reasons: http://bit.ly/nGoMxb

    Preview: candy is one of them and that is hilarious.

Leave a Reply

